You Won’t Believe These Ten Things I’ve Learned Since Starting at The Hub…

by Alex

The Hub is eerily quiet now that the students have left for winter break. During these down periods, we at the Hub can catch up on administrative and blog projects. However, this also gives us a moment of peace to reflect. This was my first semester working in The Hub, and it felt appropriate to talk about my experience being a part of a new community. Rather than bore you with a nostalgic reminiscence, I thought a Buzzfeed style “Top Ten Things I’ve Learned Since I Started at The Hub” would be way more entertaining.

  1. This semester, we started rolling out this Writing Web series. One thing I’ve learned is how to adjust my writing to the blog style. After writing my thesis and the online writing handouts, I had to relearn how to let some of my personality loose again.

tina-belcher

via GIPHY

Well, maybe not that loose.

  1. As you all have probably noticed, we have been adding more videos onto this blog. Recently, I’ve started learning how to film and how to better identify what a good shot is or when the lighting isn’t balanced enough. I’ve still got a lot to learn, but I’m grateful to Sarah for showing me the basics. Some of my shots even made it into our most recent video!
  1. With the shift in ENG 101 and 102 curricula, I’ve become much more familiar with new applications like Moovly, Powtown, Padlet, Sway, and even Twitter so that I could help students with their new multimodal projects. It’s really great to see how students can transform their work across different media platforms!

transformers

via GIPHY
  1. Each writing tutor brings valuable experiences and unique perspectives to tutoring, and it has been such a privilege to work with a group of smart and dedicated individuals. I’ve learned new tutoring techniques and approaches from speaking with other tutors and having practice tutorials with others.

hubstaff-silly

  1. Nicole, the resident math wizard of The Hub, took a trip over the summer to Austria and brought back the wonder of Eiskaffees. If you don’t know what that is—check out this recipe online (click the picture).

eiskaffe

  1. Before coming here, I never tried Indian food. That quickly changed after my second week working here. Many tutors order Indian food for lunch once every two weeks (but closer to every week, if we’re being honest), and you can bet I’m almost always placing an order with them!

yum-easy-a

via GIPHY
  1. Every learning center has their unique approach when it comes to booking appointments and serving students. At The Learning Hub, we set aside time in everyone’s schedule to allow them to prepare for the upcoming appointment. For me, this was a new practice, and having the opportunity to review students’ work before they arrived allowed us to have more productive sessions together. I felt like Team Rocket—prepared for anything, even trouble.

team-rocket

via GIPHY
  1. It gets VERY busy up here—especially the last couple weeks of the semester. I’ve worked in other institutions during finals time, but I’ve never seen appointments fill up so quickly! As the end of the semester draws nearer, consider booking your appointments as early as possible!

barbossa

via GIPHY
  1. When students leave, it is so sad.

sad-pikachu

via GIPHY

Seriously. After one day, I already missed having students up in The Learning Hub.

  1. Being with a community of amazing coworkers and students makes me look forward to coming to work every day.

turtles

via GIPHY

I can’t wait for everyone to come back, and I hope you enjoy your winter break!

Leave a Reply

