What We’re Thankful For – Raven!

For the month of November, The Learning Hub’s Writing Staff is going to be saying what we’re thankful for this year. Join in in the comments! What are YOU thankful for? What writing aspects could you not live without? We want to hear!

My name is Raven, and I am a junior studying English at UIS. Since I was in the eighth grade, I’ve been fascinated with the written language. It is amazing that the words we write on a page have the potential to transform the way that others view and experience the world. My goal as a peer writing tutor is to help others develop the necessary skills needed to allow their writing to be revolutionary. I am of the opinion that anything I read or write should challenge my thinking and the assumptions I make about the world around me.

In addition to writing, I also enjoying reading, music, and theatre. I am also heavily involved in various student organizations on campus. This is my first year working for The Learning Hub, and I am truly excited about the opportunities, challenges, and rewards I will encounter on this journey.

Quote: “Men give me credit for some Genius. All the genius I have lies in this; I have a subject in hand, I study it profoundly. Day and night it is before me. My mind becomes pervaded with it. Then the effort that I have made is what people are pleased to call the fruit of genius. It is the fruit of labor and thought.” –Alexander Hamilton

Leave a Reply

